Skip navigation links
M. Ann Levett, Ed.D.
Superintendent of Schools

Savannah-Chatham Co.
Public School System

208 Bull Street
Savannah, GA 31401
(912) 395-5600

Driving Directions:

208 Bull Street
(Admin. Offices)

2 Laura Avenue
(Board Meetings)

© 1998-present
All Rights Reserved
Announcements: SCCPSS Names 2019 Teacher of the Year Finalists


SCCPSS Names 2019 Teacher of the Year Finalists  


Finalists for SCCPSS 2019 Teacher of the Year were announced Wednesday, October 25, 2017 during a reception at the offices of the Savannah Morning News. Teacher of the Year representatives for each of our schools were also honored with certificates.

Chosen back in the Spring, the School Teacher of the Year took the summer to complete a detailed application regarding work experience and views on education. Those applications were then read and scored by a group of community readers as well as former SCCPSS District Teachers of the Year.

During the reception the top five finalists were announced by the current District Teacher of the Year, Cindy Jeffries of Haven Elementary School. Each will now move to district level competition to participate in a month long judging process that includes classroom observations and panel interviews.

The finalists include: Myria Shipman, Islands High School (not pictured); Kiwonda Riley, Johnson High School; Nicole Wofford Dillon, Oglethorpe Charter School; Laura Sebastian Hooks, West Chatham Middle School; and Christopher Lyon, Largo-Tibet Elementary School. One of these individuals will be named the 2019 District Teacher of the Year and participate in state-level competition.

These teachers will now go through an intensive interview and observation process. The teacher chosen as SCCPSS Teacher of the Year will be announced at our annual gala on Friday, February 23, 2018.

The full list of the 2019 Teacher of the Year representatives includes:



Beach High

Coriaunda Young

Bloomingdale Elementary

Stephanie LaClair

Brock Elementary

Jocelyn Sledge

Building Bridges Middle

Cherese Owens

Building Bridges High

Roberta Givens-Lovett

Butler Elementary

Lakechia Bryans

Coastal GA Comprehensive Academy

Mallory Emile Whatley

Coastal Middle

Suzanna Buckman Shiver

DeRenne Middle

Jacqueline Baker

East Broad K-8

Carla Eady

Charles Ellis Montessori Academy

Tyler Moore

Gadsden Elementary

Jennifer Knight

Garden City Elementary

Linda Shields

Garrison School for the Arts

Jaime Fu

Georgetown K-8

Shantelle Brown

Godley Station K-8

Kamaria Shaw

Gould Elementary

Monique Nelson

Groves High

Dewayne Mobley

Haven Elementary

Brian Lane

Heard Elementary

Kim Mercer

Hesse K-8

Lindsay Buck

Hodge Elementary

Tara Nelson

May Howard Elementary

Raegan Dillon

Hubert Middle

Janice West

Islands High

Myria Shipman (FINALIST)

Isle of Hope K-8

Carolyn Rethwisch

J.G. Smith Elementary

Jodi Willis Clark

Jenkins High

Lashon Leggett

Johnson High

Kiwonda Riley (FINALIST)

Largo-Tibet Elementary

Christopher Lyon (FINALIST)

School of Humanities at Juliette Gordon Low Elementary

Katrina Hall

Marshpoint Elementary

Heather Cetti Aeger

Mercer Middle

Shanice King-Solomon

Myers Middle

Lisa Hill

New Hampstead High

Shaila Gakhar

Oglethorpe Charter

Nicole Wofford Dillon (FINALIST)

Pooler Elementary

Janice Cooper

Port Wentworth Elementary

Stephanie Clark-Williams

Pulaski Elementary

Olivia Williams

Rice Creek

Joanna Brooks

Savannah Arts Academy

Michael Nestor

Savannah Early College

Jessica Chaplin

School of Liberal Studies at Savannah High

George Johnson, Jr.

Shuman Elementary

Katherine Flanagan

Southwest Elementary

Pamela Kent

Southwest Middle

Deborah Jaudon

Spencer Elementary

Sherita Bellinger

STEM Academy at Bartlett

Allyson Morgon

Tybee Maritime Academy

Nancy Bain

West Chatham Elementary

Mary Thaxton

West Chatham Middle

Dr. Laura Hooks (FINALIST)

White Bluff Elementary

Demetrias James

Windsor Forest Elementary

Shannah Moore

Windsor Forest High

Roddy Hatch, III

Woodville Tomkins High

Saritha Thammadi


Click here to see more photos from the event. Congratulations to all!


Created at 10/26/2017 9:26 AM  by Brittanie Odum 
Last modified at 11/7/2017 9:57 AM  by Brittanie Odum